Message from the Head of Department
Printer-friendly versionPDF version


Message from the Chairman

Welcome to the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

The Department of Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry was established in 1995 at the inception of the School of Pharmacy with Prof. Isaac O. Kibwage as the founding Chairman.

We carry out teaching of various aspects of Pharmaceutical Chemistry to both undergraduate and postgraduate Pharmacy students. The academic staff comprises of specialists in Pharmaceutical Analysis, Medicinal Chemistry, Radiopharmacy Spectroscopy and crystallography.

The Bachelor of Pharmacy students take the Pharmaceutical Chemistry course from the first year up to fifth year. The Department also houses Postgraduate Diploma and Master of Pharmacy programs in Pharmaceutical Analysis. In addition, the staff are actively involved in teaching of other postgraduate courses within the School of Pharmacy.

We spearhead research in different disciplines of pharmacy. Currently, active research areas include Pharmaceutical Analysis, Phytochemistry and Product Development. The Department also houses the Drug Analysis and Research Unit (DARU) which offers analytical services to the Pharmaceutical industry in Kenya and the East African region. DARU is actively involved in research in analytical methods development, comparative dissolution studies and market surveillance for pharmaceuticals, herbals, foods, beverages and related products.

Consultancy services in product development, stability studies and regulatory affairs are undertaken upon request. These services have helped the Department to foster a strong link with the pharmaceutical industry in Kenya and abroad.

The Department is endowed with a good complement of analytical and other scientific equipment acquired through the University kitty or collaborative projects with universities, research institutions and partners.

The Department has an elaborate network of international collaborations and links with the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium), University of Cape Town (South Africa), University of Western Cape (South Africa) and regionally with Makerere and Dar es Salaam Universities.

We humbly invite potential collaborators, students and clients to pay us a visit or otherwise make enquiries, suggestions and other input towards improving our status and services.

Head of Department,