What is today the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry started as a Pharmaceutical Chemistry Section within the Faculty of Medicine's Department of Pharmacy in 1974 with one lecturer and one tutorial fellow.  By 1977, the section had 4 lecturers and in 1995, it was elevated to a full department in the newly established Faculty of Pharmacy with Prof. I. O. Kibwage as the first Chairman. He served in this capacity until 2004 when he was elected Dean, School of Pharmacy. He was succeeded by Prof. G.N. Thoithi who served upto 2007. The current Chairman, Dr. K.O. Abuga took over from Prof. G.N. Thoithi.

Currently the department has ten members of academic staff consisting of two Professors, one Associate Professor, four Senior Lecturers and three Lecturers, all Kenyans.  The department has six members of highly trained and experienced technical staff and three members of administrative and support staff.


Syndicate content